Start the New Year on the Right Foot

2015 is here and the resolutions will begin to fly. I want to encourage you to do two things this year – (1) Simplify and (2) Spiritualize!

On the first, I would encourage you to re-evaluate your lifestyle, especially your social media consumption. During the last week of December as I was laying sick in bed I began unsubscribing from 10 emails per day. I have unsubscribed from about 40 so far (I think) and I plan to continue to whittle this down. For me, this is even including unsubscribing from email lists that update me about book sales – the fact is, I just can’t keep buying books and the sales are very tempting so in the spirit of simplifying and being a better steward I recommend unsubscribing as part of simplifying.

On the second I want to recommend two apps  (FREE) that I have been utilizing over the past month or so and one app I just discovered today (also FREE). The first app is GoTandem and this is a fantastic app. Research indicates that the number one spiritual growth indicator, bar none, is at least 4 engagements with the Bible each week. GoTandem sends you as many ‘engagements’ per day as you want – by topic you choose or otherwise. The great thing about the app is that the verses come with questions to make you actually engage with God, not just read them. Get the app. It is awesome!

The second app is called PrayerMate and I’ve used it for the past couple months, though not as regularly as I should. It enables you to create prayer lists and then indicate how many of the people/items on the list to pray for each day. So if there are 50 people are your friend list for instance, you can pray for 7 per day to (almost) get through them all in a week or you could do 3 per day and take two weeks to get through that particular list.

The third app I’ve just discovered today but it looks good for keeping track of your Bible reading (not just Bible engagement like GoTandem). The Bible Companion App  helps create and maintain good Bible reading habits by tracking your Bible readings with consistency meters, progress bars, and reading stats displayed within daily, weekly, & monthly charts. Other tracking features include setting goals for prayer, reflection, community, Bible Study, and other readings. The BCA does not contain the Scriptures. You are free to read from the Bible and medium of your choice.

So for 2015 start right – simplify and spiritualize – and grab a friend to do this together with and you’re likely to enjoy greater success and encouragement.

About Kevin M. Adams

M.Div.: Biblical Studies M.A.: Biblical Studies B.S.: Criminal Justice Diploma: Business Management 20 Years Youth Ministry 12 Years Food Service 9 Years School Teacher 7 Years Bus Driving 7 Years Church Planter/Pastor Enjoy Camping, Canoeing, Photography, Tennis (not good!), Reading
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

