Your Health is Your Responsibility!

As the New Year gets under way and resolutions are made I’d like to encourage you (and me) to evaluate your plans/goals for your body. Like most things in life we all fail in many ways and we tend to either idolize or neglect our body. God has a different desire for you. He desires for you to manage (steward) your body – and to do it well.

Truth is, we all have different challenges when it comes to our health; some we are born with and others happen to us; however, most of them (at least for most of us) are a result of our own choices. It is no accident that America has such a high incidence of obesity, cancer, heart problems or even homicides – it is primarily a direct result of the way we choose to live and the inevitable consequences.

My own story began when as a child I was taken to the ER for continuous stomach cramps that were so severe I couldn’t sleep. This is when I found out I was lactose intolerant. From then on I had my own half gallon of milk in the fridge – off limits to the rest of the family (I had 5 siblings in the house). It wasn’t long after this that I was also tested for allergies and found out I was allergic to many “regular” things including; dust mites, mold, oak, bananas and horse hair. So out went our horse hair rug – I’m really not sure why we had one but maybe that was something in the 70’s?

After around 20 years of being on Lactaid milk and allergy shots/pills my allergies didn’t seem much better. In fact, seasonally they seemed to get worse when I was in upstate NY (where I was born). After a few rounds of Zyrtec I added headaches to the list so it was then (about 10 years ago) that I decided enough was enough and I quit – all of it – no more allergy pills and no more shots. I had already pretty much quick milk and was okay with the occasional dairy in pizza, ice cream, etc. as long as it was kept to a minimum.

This started what had become a search for a better way, a way that both heals and helps my body to function as it should. I am a long way from where I wish to be but my allergies are better than they’ve ever been and my dairy problems are pretty much a thing of the past.

Your health is largely up to you. Make 2017 a year to remember – because it was a milestone in getting healthy!

(story to be continued)

About Kevin M. Adams

M.Div.: Biblical Studies M.A.: Biblical Studies B.S.: Criminal Justice Diploma: Business Management 20 Years Youth Ministry 12 Years Food Service 9 Years School Teacher 7 Years Bus Driving 7 Years Church Planter/Pastor Enjoy Camping, Canoeing, Photography, Tennis (not good!), Reading
This entry was posted in Health, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

